Giant Beach Balls

Lying in bed, faced with the daunting task of falling asleep (the problem being that, once I am under the covers and the lights are off and the only things I can hear are the sounds of the fish pump and the rain falling on the roof, my thoughts become endless and incomprehensive) I decided that I would very much like to be suspended in the center of a large ball, composed of soft but sturdy plastic (like a beach ball), so that I could tumble down the stairs (and maybe even bounce a little) without getting hurt.

Expanding on the idea, I thought about how interesting it would be if people offered such rides in a carnival like atmosphere: bundling you up in the center of a giant beach ball, and sending you tumbling down a hill, where somoene would catch you and free you because you can't stay in the ball for more than 10 minutes, else you will run out of oxygen and suffocate.

So I go ahead and imagine myself in one of these rides, only instead of rolling me down a grassy hill, they roll me down a steep road and the guy who's supposed to catch me on the other end can't because my ball is rolling too fast (oh no!).

Now I will roll forever and die in a giant beach ball (because the road is deserted), and not only that, but I will get dizzy and have a nasty headache and probably throw up before I die, with my body smeared in vomit.

Unless... the ball finally hits a tree or a wall and comes to a stop, allowing me to cut my way out with the miniature swiss army knife on my keychain.

I think that I should keep my keychain on me all the time.

I also think that I should get some sleep. I have to leave at 7:20am tomorrow, and it is winter.

previous - next; thanks, diaryland.