Inside-out Umbrellas

It was a strange day.

The events of the day weren't particularly strange... it was the actual day, an aura about it, something that made it quite strange, and mystical. It was a day where everyday things seem foreign, and you want to be suspended at the bottom of the v (which is lined with soft cushions) in a large y-shaped sculputure, so you can sleep forever.

I actually went to my stats lecture this morning. I think it might be the fifth stats lecture I have attended all year.

I tried to catch the 7:30 bus, but it was full and drove past without stopping, madly flashing its lights at me as if I should have known all along. Lacking the patience to wait another half hour for a bus to drive by, I decided to walk down to the shopping center and catch the inter-town bus and save myself $1.30.

The weather was terrible. I sat next to a scared looking girl called Aggs Clio, or so her clarinet case said, and wondered if she was any good, and decided that she probably wasn't and she'd probably stop playing as soon as music wasn't a requirement anymore as most private school girls do... buy expensive musical instruments, play for a year and then stash them at the back on the shelves on top of their wardrobes... like my sister and her sax.

From the bus stop, I followed a short skinny asian guy who looked like a miniature version of Clint with big dreads to uni, and walked through doors that were already closed because I couldn't be bothered trying to walk through already open doors, in case they decided to close on me and then I would have to push them open again. It seemed like a lot of work at the time.

The lecture itself was quite good, almost even worth getting up for at six thirty on a cold winter morning. For the second time this year,I sat through, and paid attention to an entire stats lecture.

Well, almost. Fifteen minutes before the end of the first hour, I started falling asleep... it was one of those moments where no matter what you try and do, you can't keep your eyes open. At one point, I woke up with a jolt and grabbed my pen, ready to write something down. Only, there wasn't anything to write. I felt pretty stupid.

During the ten minute break, I went to the cafeteria and bought myself an orange G-Force, hoping that it would wake me up (I don't normally believe in energy drinks, but I was pretty desperate). I couldn't open the seal and had to use my teeth which resulted in the spillage of juice all over the front of my clothes, and oddly, stained yellow hands. I don't know how the stains came about... I assume they were from the juice because I didn't have them before I spilt it, but they were most bizarre. Even after vigorous scrubbing with soap and water, they still wouldn't fade. I am quite intrigued (mental note to do further informal research on this).

The juice helped... or maybe it was the bacon and egg slice, either way, I was awake for the entire second half, and feeling quite studious. I spent my four hour break diligently working on my assignment (probably because it was due at 4) in the tutorial room, and actually asking for help to make sure I did it right... I was quite impressed with myself.

The glorious moment was short-lived, and disappeared promptly upon entry to datacom where the lecturer's monotonous tone and a couple of bites of Boy's warm sausage sizzle convinced me that I needed to (a) leave the lecture as quickly as I could and (b) get food. Lots of food.

Outside, it was drizzling. He had a big blue and white umbrella, and, after being subjected to four hours of silence, I had turned into a somewhat obnoxious little monster, and told him that I hoped his umbrella turned inside out. I think he might have been a little upset.

Our quest for food took us up to the uni bar, where upon almost-entry, I giggled at the bouncer (it wasn't my fault... he always tries to look so tough and mean when he sees me, it's funny) and he deliberatly let Boy in and asked me for ID.

"Are you serious? Man, you suck!" I said.

"Well, you shouldn't have laughed... I would have let you in if you hadn't." he smirked.

"Man, talk about abuse of power!" I mumbled, searching for my wallet.

"This girl has no respect!" Boy told him.

"Tell me something new." He replied. I glared.

We ordered beef nachos. Half an hour, the bartender said. We waited. We had some free coke. We watched some music videos. We talked. We had some more free coke. An hour later, the nachos arrived... but worth it, or maybe we just thought so because the numerous cups of free cokes we had consumed in the past hour had made us excessively hungry.

On the way to the bus stop, his umbrella turned inside out. I think I caused permanent damage to my stomach by laughing so much. I felt compelled to apologize... I almost felt like I had made his umbrella turn inside out... would that have happened if I hadn't said it? I asked him, and he said probably. I didn't believe him.

The fatigue hit me like a cold shower when I got home, and I slept undisturbed for hours, dreaming about fat lady bag wardens in khaki uniforms, who confiscated your schoolbag if it was overweight. In my dream, she tried to confiscate Boy's schoolbag, not because it was overweight, but because she wanted to steal his textbooks. It wasn't a very nice dream.

Now, I am wide awake and bored, and will not get to sleep for hours.

I think I will ask Boy to call me.

(He says this is what happens when you get up before 8.)

previous - next; thanks, diaryland.