Wednesday's Child

"Sometimes I cry because I have no reason to cry." I said softly as we were driving home. "So I make up reasons to cry."

On the way there, Bryan Adams had played on the radio, and I had not cried. Now, alone and listening to him at home I find that my eyes are clouding over. This song never fails to make me cry. Sometimes, when I think that I want to cry, and have no reason to, all I have to do is put it on.

This isn't the only song that can make me cry. Music has had the ability to make me cry since forever. I remember when I was younger, I would start crying if I heard a sad sounding song on the radio. When my mother asked me what was wrong, I would feel too embarassed and stupid to tell her the real reason, so I would tell her that the housemaid had scolded me, and the innocent housemaid would get in trouble. I still feel guilty about that.

Wednesdays Child
Wednesday's child is full of woe, the rhyme goes. All these years, I think Wednesday's child has been misunderstood. Wednesday's child cries not because she is full of woe, but because she likes to. Because sometimes, there is no other way for her to express how much she feels.

Today's Tears
Today's tears are for the stars.

I stood on the porch and stared up at the sparkles in the sky as he locked the door behind me. When he was done, I pulled him gently by the hand so he was standing next to me. "Look." I said, and looked up at the sky. And he hugged me, and we looked at the glittery stars in the clear sky, and at that moment, even now, I don't think there could have been anything more beautiful than that.

I think I will remember it forever. Like the pigeons, and the wedges in the winter rain, and the reflection of the stars on the lake on Valentine's night.

Sometimes, I cry because I imagine what it would be like if I were to lose him. I know that if everything was in my power, there is no way that this would ever happen.

But sometimes, everything isn't always in my, or anyone's, power. Sometimes, bad things happen.

One day, he was late. That day, I realised that my biggest fear was waking up one day, and realising that he would not be there anymore. Forever.

I hope I never have to wake up to that day. I would not be able to go on.

I will always cry about this.

previous - next; thanks, diaryland.